APRIL Advocacy Committee

 

3rd Wednesdays of the month at 2:00pm EST

(1:00pm CST, 12:00pm MST, 11:00am PST)

 

Youth Advocates meet at 1:30pm EST

(12:30pm CST, 11:30am MST, 10:30am PST)

Youth are invited to join 30 minutes prior to the start of the full call to hear about some of the topics of the legislation and policy that will be discussed.  Background information on topics covered during the call will be covered as well. 

Connect with both calls

Conference call #: 1-712-832-8330

Passcode: 8127183

 

Preamble to APRIL’s National Advocacy Strategy

APRIL is a national membership organization dedicated to advancing the rights and responsibilities of people with disabilities in rural America.

APRIL is committed to an aggressive and culturally-appropriate advocacy strategy tied to our Vision statement: “APRIL is the unified voice of independent living in rural America.” In furtherance of that Vision, APRIL has engaged hundreds of members and dedicated many hours aimed at developing a mission-focused system change agenda to further the civil rights of all people with disabilities regardless of age, disability, income, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religion or nationality.

Equally as important to us, is ensuring that young people with disabilities are integrated into all facets of program development and delivery. We are truly committed to the mantra: Nothing About Us, Without Us.  

 

APRIL Advocacy Priorities 2020

Stand Alone Issues
   •Implementation of the reauthorized Rehab Act (WIOA)

Advocacy Policy Priorities
   •Complete Community Care (C3):

  1. Continue implementation of Affordable Care Act/funding affecting rural people with disabilities, and inclusion as a population experiencing “health disparities.”
  2. Putting the “D” in ADRCs, as the potential portal of entry, and building effective collaborations
  3. Stop implementation of harmful policies like competitive bidding for durable medical equipment, supplies, prosthetics, and supplies (DMEPOS)

Community-based services:
Eliminate the institutional bias once and for all; revise Medicaid rules to mandate a national buy-in program and allow greater flexibility for states to widen eligibility and raise asset limits and asset exemptions.

  • Transportation:
    Continue to advocate for the implementation of the 2015 full multi-year reauthorization of the federal Highway bill (FAST Act) to increase funding/flexibility for rural transit systems in line with APRILs Policy Paper and feedback during conference sessions; and impacting access to and availability of transportation options for rural veterans.

Meets the 4th Monday of the month

Contact Billy Altom for more information.

  • Employment:
    Fight to eliminate the “special” or sub-minimum wage in federal law; and work to revise the Social Security Act to permanently eliminate work disincentives and “cash cliff” for those employed.

Competitive Employment Letter 

  • Mental Health:
    Implement, develop and support the delivery of rural consumer-controlled, recovery, peer models.
  • Violence and abuse against PWD:
    Increase access and services for women with disabilities. 

APRIL Advocacy Subcommittee Descriptions

APRIL Subcommittee Processes

 

For more information contact:

Scott Burlingame

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

701-839-4724

 

Donate to APRIL

Search APRIL

Address Information:
APRIL
11324 Arcade Drive, Suite 9
Little Rock, AR 72212

Phone Contact:
APRIL
Phone: 501-753-3400
FAX: 501-753-3406