APRIL and IL-NET presents: 

Youth Coordinators Connect Call

Join us to begin building a community of peer support and sharing for Youth Program Coordinators. Come share your experiences, tips and tricks, and problem solve barriers to growing and implementing youth programs in your Center for Independent Living. Meet and learn from your colleagues throughout the country who are working towards the common goal of improving services for youth with disabilities.

Each month we will discuss a topic as it relates to youth programs and services.  These topics are decided on as a group.  We will also brainstorm solutions for barriers that may come up in your programs. 

 

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Register Today

YOU HAVE TO REGISTER TO PARTICIPATE FOR THIS CALL

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIpcO6qqz8iHdT2cNTB2PZ8wxcW1D-wAvga

Regional Youth Coordinators Connect

Based on the previous discussion there was overwhelming interest in having a regional call to discuss Covid-19.  We are going to do our best effort to meet this request.  We have created 7 different time periods throughout Tuesday, June 2, 2020 for you to connect to those in your area.  In order to do this we will have to register to ensure I can record the conversations and to ensure accommodations as requested. 

As you register I will be sending information for you to log-in at your allotted time, based on your state.  The following is the time periods for the states for you to mark your calendar!

9:30am-10:30am EST

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Jersey, New York, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania

11:00am-12:00pm EST

Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida

12:30pm-1:30pm EST (11:30am-12:30pm CST)

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, Iowa

2:00pm-3:00pm EST (1:00-2:00pm CST, 12:00-1:00pm MST)

Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Mississippi, Kansas, Missouri

3:30pm-4:30pm EST (2:30-3:30pm CST, 1:30-2:30pm MST, 12:30-1:30pm PST)

Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands

5:00pm-6:00pm EST (4:00-3:00pm CST, 3:00-4:00pm MST)

Colorado, Montana, Utah, Wyoming, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota

6:30pm-7:30pm EST (4:30-5:30pm MST, 3:30-4:30pm PST)

Arizona, California, Nevada, Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

 

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Where is IL needed in All Schools

  • Elementary, Middle Schools
  • IEP Advocacy

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

How to work with Students that are Written Off

  • Alternative Schools
  • Charter and Private Schools

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Motivating Factors for Youth

  • Motivation Starts with Inclusion
  • How to help youth care
  • Engaging the youth forced to be there

  

In-Person Meeting at the APRIL Conference, October-9-11, 2020

To get more information or how to connect further please contact the Youth Program Coordinator, Sierra Royster at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 919-567-3602.

il net april logo small

The IL-NET National Training and Technical Assistance (T&TA) Center for Independent Living is operated by ILRU (Independent Living Research Utilization). The IL-NET T&TA Center provides training and technical assistance to centers for independent living and statewide independent living councils. ILRU arranges some training activities through the National Council on Independent Living (NCIL), peer-to-peer mentoring and youth program support through the Association of Programs for Rural Independent Living (APRIL), and online courses and document development through Utah State University Center for Persons with Disabilities.

The IL-NET is supported by grant numbers 90ILTA0001 and 90ISTA0001 from the U.S. Administration for Community Living, Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, D.C. 20201. Grantees undertaking projects under government sponsorship are encouraged to express freely their findings and conclusions. Points of view or opinions do not, therefore, necessarily represent official Administration for Community Living policy.

Address Information:
APRIL
11324 Arcade Drive, Suite 9
Little Rock, AR 72212

Phone Contact:
APRIL
Phone: 501-753-3400
FAX: 501-753-3406