PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A DRAFT AND IS UPDATING AS WE RECIEVE MORE INFORMATION FROM SPEAKERS

 

Monday October 12, 2020 Day 1

  

9:30-11:00 am Pacific, 12:30-2:00 PM Eastern

 

Welcome Ceremonies

 

Welcome from the Executive Director and Board Chair: Scott Burlingame and Billy Altom

 

Thank you to our Executive Sponsors, Anthem and Centene and our in kind donors, Arizona SILC

 

What to Expect from the online conference

 

Welcome from the Youth Committee, Mels Felton and Fanisee Bias

 

Updates about APRIL

 

Welcome and Blessing from John Bird (and honoring Indigenous People’s Day)

 

Updates from the Administration on Community Living

 

 

11:15-12:15 Pacific Time, 2:15-3:15 PM Eastern

 

The Doorway to Helping Rural Veterans

Jen Morgan and Rob Ferris

 

IL Among the Generations:

Joan LaBelle,

 

 

12:30 PM- 1:30 PM Pacific time, 3:30-4:30 Eastern

 

Disability, Racism, Respectability:

Ken Mitchell,

 

Peer Support for Youth: Facilitated by Youth Steering Committee:

 

Young people with disabilities, join this meeting to get to know other young people from across the country and hear about their strengths and struggles while sharing yours.  With community, we are stronger! Come start building your community.

  

1:45-2:45 PM Pacific, 4:45-5:45 PM Eastern

 

Membership Meeting: Elect new members, hear APRIL updates, vote on By-Laws changes

 

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

 

9:00-10:00 am Pacific, 12:00pm- 1:00 pm Eastern

 

Dear CILs: Here's what to expect from your SILC and Other Messy Stuff

Kathy Cooper and Ami Hyten

 

ADA Complaint Process for Transportation: Tips for Riders and CILs:

Ken Thompson

 

 

10:30 am-11:30 am Pacific, 1:30 pm-2:30 pm Eastern

 

Facilitating groups & online workshop delivery:

Tannis Hargrove,

 

 

Outreach in BARs - Building Authentic Relationships:

Mel Leviton, Christine Pisani

 

 

12:00 pm-1:00 pm Pacific, 3:00 pm- 4:00 pm Eastern

 

Keynote Session: Building the Next Generation of IL

Dustin Gibson, Fanisee Bias, Sarah Martinez

 

As we move forward as a movement, its important to think about how we are building the next generation of Independent Living.  How are we ensuring that we are elevating and including all voices such as those from multiply marginalized backgrounds, young people, and those who are new to Independent Living.  What can we be doing to engage a new generation of leaders? How do we support them, and ensure that as a movement we are continually growing and challenging ourselves? Join our amazing mix of panelists as they share their thoughts while hopefully sparking yours to think about Beyond 2020.

 

1:30 pm-2:30 pm Pacific, 4:30 pm-5:30 pm Eastern

 

SILCS: Know your Regs:

Kathy Cooper

 

Peer Support Session Executive Directors

With community, we are stronger! Come start building your community. Executive Directors, join this meeting to socialize with other Eds. Bring your questions and you updates on what you are working on currently.

 

Youth Conference: Disability and Intersectionality

 

 

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Pacific 8:00-9:00 PM Eastern

 

Social Hour: Come to greet old friends or meet new ones.  We will have two zoom rooms open with ability for breakouts if you want to invite your friends and meet them virtually here. Cart and Interpreters will be provided until 6 pm Pacific (9 pm Eastern)

 

 

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

9:00-10:00 am Pacific, 12:00pm- 1:00 pm Eastern

 

Blurred Lines - Redefine Your Lane:

Shelly Simmons, Kimberly Conner

 

Audio Description? What's Up with This:

Rebecca Williams, Rene Cummins

 

10:30-11:30 am Pacific, 1:30-2:30 pm Eastern

 

Reaching and Serving the Youngest Youth:

Paige Maxwell,

  

Mental Health Emergency Planning in Rural Communities:

Kathy Baker

 

 

12:00-1:00 pm Pacific, 3:00-4:00 pm Eastern

Building a community coalition "Us Protecting Us":

Ken Mitchell,

 

Colorado CIL Network Resource Development

Joan LaBelle, Peter Pike, Ian Engle, Sarah Hansen

 

 

1:30-2:30 Pacific, 4:30-5:30 Eastern

 

An Overview of Supports and Tools for Facilitating an Effective Webinar:

Barbara Schoen

 

Peer Support for IL Staff: Join us in this meeting (your camera and mic will be nice to have!) to share ideas and what you are doing and ask questions to others working with consumers. You might ask about nursing home transition, advocacy issues, COVID related issues, getting consumers online etc. With Community We are Stronger!

 

  

Youth Conference: Let’s Talk IL:

  

Thursday, October 15th, 2020

 

9:00-10:00am Pacific, 12:00pm-1:00pm Eastern

 

Collaboration VR, Education, CILs

ACL

 

Getting out the Jitters: Interviews

Katrina Parsons

 

 

10:30-11:30am Pacific 1:30pm-2:30pm Eastern

AT for Independence at Mealtimes and Medication Management:

 

Danny Housley

 

Movin' Out? Thinking About Getting a Place of My Own:

Rebecca Williams, Rene Cummins

 

 

12:00-1:00pm Pacific, 3:00-4:00pm Eastern

 

Strategies for Rural Outreach and Networking:

Rayna Sage,

 

  

 

Peer Session Youth Coordinators Connect

Sierra Royster

 

 

1:30-2:30pm Pacific, 4:30-5:30pm Eastern

 

Making Connections, Saving Lives Before, During, and After Disasters:

Jim House,

 

Peer Support Session SILC Board Members:

 

 

Youth Conference- Leadership

 

4:00-5:00 PM Pacific 7:00-8:00 Eastern

 

Singalong with Mr. Billy Altom- Join us for an APRIL Tradition, turn on your microphones and cameras if you like, bring your favorite beverage, and join Billy in our traditional night before closing sing-along.  Captions and interpreters provided.

 

Friday, October 16, 2020

9:00-10:00am Pacific 12:00pm-1:00pm Eastern

Reach for the Gold Standard in CIL Operations

ACL

 

 

Expanding Your Consumer Base Using Technology and Online Tools:

Tannis Hargrove, Partners for HCL CILs

 

 

10:30-11:30am Pacific, 1:30pm-2:30pm Eastern

 

Nursing Facility Evacuation, Relocation & Transition during a Pandemic

Roads to Freedom CIL Panel

 

Misty Dion, CEO, Roads to Freedom CIL and President of the PA Council on Independent Living

 

Jodie Baney, RN, Director of Programs & Services, Roads to Freedom CIL

 

Shaylin Sluzalis & German Parodi Co-Executive Directors, the Partnership for Inclusive Disaster Strategies

 

Marcie Roth, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, the World Institute on Disability

 

 

Flexing Our Muscles - Exercising Our Authorities

Jeremy Morris, Sandra Breitengross Bitter

 

 

12:00-1:00pm Pacific 3:00-4:00pm Eastern

 

Social Media Outreach Starts with a Plan

  

Peer Support Meeting (Program Managers/AD)

  

Youth Conference Closing -Peer Advocate Panel

 

 

 

 

1:15-2:45pm Pacific 4:15-5:00 Eastern

 

Closing Ceremonies

Linda Gonzales Award, Early Walden Award

 

Address Information:
APRIL
11324 Arcade Drive, Suite 9
Little Rock, AR 72212

Phone Contact:
APRIL
Phone: 501-753-3400
FAX: 501-753-3406